Exercises

Grammar reference: ‘can’ and ‘could’: possibility 1

Elephants CAN BE very dangerous- general fact

A hundred years ago, flu COULD BE very dangerous- fact about the past

Your keys COULD BE in your other jacket- guess about the present

They’re 30 minutes late. They COULD HAVE GOT lost- guess about the past

This bill CAN’T BE correct. It’s too much- impossibility: present

You CAN’T/COULDN’T HAVE SEEN me yesterday. I was at home all day- impossibility: past

They arrived over an hour late. They COULD HAVE PHONED us!- past event that was possible but didn’t happen

Grammar reference: ‘can’ and ‘could’: possibility 2

1. Elephants can be very dangerous.

2. A hundred years ago, flu could be very dangerous.

3. Your keys could be in your other jacket.

4. They’re 30 minutes late. They could have got lost.

5. This bill can’t be correct. It’s too much.

6. You can’t have seen me yesterday. I was at home all day.

7. They arrived over an hour late. They could have phoned us!

Grammar reference: ‘can’ and ‘could’: other uses 1

My father CAN PLAY the violin.- ability: present

My mother COULDN’T DRIVE until she was 40- ability: past

CAN I MAKE a suggestion?- asking for permission

COULD I USE this phone for a moment?- asking for permission: more polite

You CAN HAVE a break now- giving permission

You CAN’T PARK here- no permission

CAN YOU GIVE this letter to Fay?- requesting

COULD YOU PASS me the salt, please?- requesting: more polite

I CAN DO the shopping if you like.- offering

COULD I MAKE you a cup of tea?- offering: more polite

Grammar reference: ‘can’ and ‘could’: other uses 2

1. My father can play the violin.

2. My mother couldn’t drive until she was 40.

3. Can I make a suggestion?

4. Could I use this phone for a moment?

5. You can have a break now.

6. You can’t park here.

7. Can you give this letter to Fay?

8. Could you pass me the salt, please?

9. I can do the shopping if you like.

10. Could I make you a cup of tea?

Թողնել պատասխան

Ձեր էլ-փոստի հասցեն չի հրատարակվելու։ Պարտադիր դաշտերը նշված են *-ով